Home

One of the boys had a callus and so I dove into the world of ointment making.

“Here, I read this.”

“Here, put this on it.”

“Here soak it in here.”

I’m happy to report it is gone and healed beautifully.

I soaked Calendula petals in oil on the windowsill for 10 days (remember this photo) and just mixed that in with melted beeswax. We now have a great ointment for general cuts and scrapes, something a boy mother knows a bit about.

images-11The best reference I have found by far is a book called Growing 101 Herbs That Heal by Tammi Hartung. I have had this book for over 10 years and find myself referring to it often. Not only does it have the best herbs to grow with a great breakdown of its medicinal benefits, but there are excellent directions on how to USE these flowers and make them into powerful teas, tinctures, ointments, and more. Now that we are settled at our new home and spring is here, I hope to plant some of the herbs we will benefit from.DSC_5846

Leave a Reply

