Home

DSC_8986

DSC_8989A great way for me to get a project sewn pronto is to borrow the book from the library. It’s the way I like to try a pattern book before I buy and it is also great motivation to get the job done in the short time allotted. I was fortunate to find the book Simple Modern Sewing: 8 Basic Patterns to Create 25 Favorite Garments by Shufu To Seikatsu Sha on the library shelves on a recent browse. You better believe the next day I was buying fabric and pinning.

DSC_8980I chose pattern 7b. the cap sleeve top. I am most proud of how the sleeves turned out. I did alter the shirt a bit, which isn’t something I usually do, but this neckline was just too wide for me. I folded in a pleat and added two buttons. I also added the bottom hem because I screwed up and did not cut it long enough. Lessons learned.

DSC_8976So, I shall now approach that the first run of a pattern as a jumping off point for improvement, but all in all I’m happy with the first run.

Please let me know what books you have had success with. As my boys say, “Mom, you are getting more into sewing, right?” Today I’m wearing my shirt and next week I’m sewing up some shorts for the boys. I would love more patterns for boys and simple ones for me, so any resources I would sure appreciate!

More Pioneer Kids sewing posts:

Sewing New Shorts

Argh, A Pirate Jacket

Repurposing a Quilt

5 thoughts on “Sewing for Myself.

    • I picked this fabric because I thought it would work for spring or fall, double use:) The book I’m working with is pretty straight forward, but I’ve learned to expect errors on the first time around.

Leave a Reply

